Update on Domestic Travel Requirements
November 3, 2017   //   By:   //   Articles   //   Comments are off

A need to know update on the REAL ID Act and the 22 states that requested an extension.

The states listed below are still under review for an extension. Please note a grace period has been given to these states until January 22, 2018 when federal law enforcing the REAL ID Act will go into effect. States that are not listed are REAL ID Act-compliant or have obtained an extension (until October 10, 2018).

  • Connecticut
  • Illinois
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • New York
  • Rhode Island


The REAL ID Act of 2005 put stricter regulations on obtaining a driver’s license and requires states to display more information on the card. Non compliant states must craft, fund, and distribute new driver’s licenses to residents. As of January 22, 2018, travelers carrying a driver’s license issued by a non compliant state (that does not have an extension) will need to provide an additional form of identification to pass security checkpoints at the airport for domestic travel.  Despite extensions, starting October 1, 2020 all travelers must have a REAL ID-compliant license or another acceptable form of identification to travel within the United States (non compliant REAL ID Act driver’s licenses will not be accepted even with an additional form of identification).

*Other forms of acceptable identification: https://www.tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/identification

**State Map: https://www.dhs.gov/real-id

***REAL ID frequently asked questions:  https://www.dhs.gov/real-id-public-faqs#

About the Author :